Draft Logo

cobra-logo

A vital part of every unit’s success is family. While Soldiers are in the field or spending long days away from home, spouses and children are left to take care of everyday life.  Not having a family prepared for the stress of military life and normal life can lead to the ultimate downfall of if a unit can complete it’s mission.  To help with these stresses, units often create Family Readiness Groups or FRGs.  The FRG serves as a safe place for all Soldiers and families to handle issues while the Soldier is away, but also creates a support group for families and children.

Cobra Battery is currently in transition with our FRG as our former leaders have moved on to other units.  For this logo project, I hoped to create a symbol to be used for emails and other event publications so that C Battery had an identity as an FRG.

For research, I looked first at the Army FRG website https://www.armyfrg.org/skins/frg/home.aspx. I found that this page didn’t really have a core logo, but that it had many programs under the umbrella of FRG and buttons on the website.  The button that caught my attention was the “subscribe” button. This button was a simple outline with basic shapes of a man and a woman.  Along the line of simple shapes to make people, I looked at http://www.bbbs.org/ the Big Brothers Big Sisters program logo, with this I had the needed inspiration for my design.

I started my logo with a circle to serve as the base of the design.  I chose a comfort color yellow to serve as a relaxing background.  I applied a circular gradient to the background.  Next, I used the ellipse tool to make the bodies of the family.  I chose to use a stereotypical family makeup, but also wanted to make it non-gender or race specific so that it could serve as everyone’s logo.  I then made the arm’s for the parents using polygon tool for a triangle and dragging the anchors to my liking.  I duplicated and reflected the arm and made it a smaller size to fit the other adult.  For the colors, I chose colors from the base color palette and applied radial gradients on the heads and linear gradiants on the rest of the body parts.  Finally, I applied a arched text along the top and a unaltered text along the bottom.

Hopefully, this serves as a good base logo for the start of our new battery logo.  Your input would be greatly appreciated!

4 thoughts on “Draft Logo

  1. Hi Luke,
    You have a very good design here. I think that this is a great program that you have and the design reflects that. I like how you decided to design the people instead of going with a stick figure design. This gives them a more realistic feel. I like how the parent’s arms are curved to embrace their children. I, also, loved that you even considered to make them non-gender related colors in order to broaden the audience to any and every family. This was a great idea!

    Both of my suggestions will have to do with positioning. One of my suggestions for your design is that you move the green child down a little further. This will help so that it won’t be so far above the pink child. It could, also, help to not cut off so much of the red parent’s body.

    My other suggestion is for the blue parent. Much of he/she is covered by the pink child. If you were to move him/her out a little bit, it would help it to not look so crowded. If you can do this while keeping the arms around the children, it would be great. Try bringing down the arms a little bit to see how it looks, but if it looks awkward you can position them back.

    Your overall design is very nice. It would be a great logo for the program!

    -Kambria

    Like

  2. Luke –

    For your Family Readiness Group logo, you used the gradient shading well. This technique help makes the family look more three-dimensional and realistic. I liked that you designed a non-gender, race specific family and felt the design promotes inclusiveness for the Family Readiness. Group. Last, the yellow shading does provide a nice pleasing background for families.

    My first suggestion is refining the arms of the people. To make it more proportional, I think it might help to shorten the length of the arms. Next, you might want to bring the arms next to the body so that it is a seamless icon of a person.

    The second suggestion would be to make your text stand out stronger. Perhaps you could make the font bold on the text “Cobra Battery” and add a drop shadow or stroke. Also, the word “Battery” might need a little adjustment on the arc as it looks stretched. On the “Family Readiness” font, I worry that if the logo size is reduced, then the thin font could be hard to read. I hope my suggestions help improve your logo design.

    Brenda

    Like

  3. Hi Luke,

    This seems like a really good group and your design seems to capture the spirit of what you are after. I really like the idea of using simple figures to represent the family for your vision of neutrality and to make the support part of family the main subject. With that in mind, I’d try and see what it looks like when you make the red arm a bit more similar to the blue one where it overlaps the smaller figure. I think this might help reinforce the feeling of family and support while creating a more unifying flow by keeping our eyes drawn to the center of the design.

    A concern I have is wether or not this will scale effectively with all the text. Maybe try a slightly bolder text and a monochromatic scheme with the figures using different shades of the same color and trying it without a stroke may help make the figures seem larger without actually increasing the physical size of the object. I’m not totally sure but it could be something to play with.

    At first I was going to suggest trying the figures without the gradients but I think it gives the shapes a feel of depth and shape and I think that is nice when representing people. Maybe try softening them up and cheating the radial gradients on the heads to be closer in tune with the gradients on the body so it appears as if the light is coming from the same source.

    These are just a few minor suggestions to what I think is a very nice logo.
    -Chris

    Like

  4. For my own design, after letting it sit for a few days there a few edits recommended by classmates and self-reflection that will ultimately make this design stronger.
    First, the people need to be positioned in a way that shows more of all of the bodies. Moving the purple child would greatly reduce clutter around the blue parent.
    Another edit to the figures would be to adjust and scale the arms so that they are more associated as arms on the bodies. I still like the disjointed look, but maybe moving them closer will read better to the audience.
    I do need to adjust some of the gradients. Some of them seem kind of out of place, as in the red parent’s head. Also possibly the blue parent’s body gradient may be too drastic. I will play with these to get them to the optimal gradient.
    The final big edit is the text. I wasn’t fully in love with the first text design, as the comments suggest it is some of the letters are deformed. I will adjust fonts and sizes so that it is clear what the logo is for. Or maybe remove the text all together if it looks better.
    Overall, the critiques form my peers were very helpful and it was good to look at their design processes and creations to see what works and what doesn’t in a logo design.

    Like

Leave a Reply

